Answering the “Tough” Questions

Oi amigos! I realized I hadn’t updated in awhile and thought maybe the time was right. I was unsure of what really to talk about so I decided instead to just list the random thoughts in my head.

 

Answers to the most common questions I get from Americans.

  1. Yes, I do go to school. I recently finished my month-long Portuguese intensive language course and just last week began some of my classes at my new school, before our week and a half long break for Carnaval. Although I have only attended my one course in English, I can already tell that it is going to be incredibly interesting. The class is International Politics although it seems to be mostly about American history and political theory so I’m not exactly opposed. It is so incredibly refreshing to be able to have a professor who is so passionate about discussing American politics with no fear that his views will cause him to be fired or cause an uproar in class.
  2. Yes, Carnaval was just as crazy, and probably more so, as it looked in my Snapchat story. The past week or so has been the most exhausting, thrilling, exciting, terrifying time of my life to date. Not to scare you away. I am a firm believer that if you are able to handle insane amounts of people around you at all times, over 100 degree temperatures, ungodly amounts of sweat, Brazilians starring at your Gringo group like a pack of prized show dogs, and lots and lots of dancing- you will too be a #survivor of Carnaval. I’ve never felt more a part of something in a place where I clearly didn’t belong. There is something about dancing for 12-14 hours a day in a crowd full of strangers where no one seems to care who you are as long as you are having a good time that almost gives you a sense of security. (Just make sure your pockets are empty and your money belt secure of course…)
  3. No, I am not fluent yet. However, we have come a long way from where we started. Probably the most important thing I’ve picked up are the few little phrases that some of my amazing new Brazilian friends have taught me that truly fool people into thinking you might actually know what you’re doing. (Thank you, Catarina!!!) I’ve caused several taxi drivers, shop owners, and people I meet to ask me if I am a Carioca which is by far the best compliment I could ever receive here. Then when I regretfully inform them that I am not, they still get some joy out of a gringo trying so hard to fit in.
  4. Yes, Brazilians are extremely attractive people. Imagine yourself standing in a room with all of the Victoria’s Secret Angels on one side and every man who has ever posed for Calvin Klein on the other. Now make them all much, much tanner with piercing green eyes and beautiful hair. Then put yourself in the middle. That is my life now. So call that the biggest blessing and/or curse ever…
  5. Yes, we have made lots of Brazilian friends! They have been so great to us and we love getting to learn from them!
  6. Yes, this is the tannest I have ever been. Don’t jinx it y’all, I don’t want to scare it away.

 

Conversations with Brazilians tend to be a little different.

Answers to the most common questions I get from Brazilians.

  1. No, I am not Argentinian.
  2. Yes, I realize I have dark hair and blue eyes. There are other humans in the world with this complexion besides the Argentinians.
  3. Yes, I am sure.
  4. No, I am not friends with celebrities because I live in California. I realize LA is in a lot of movies, yes wise Brazilian, but it isn’t exactly a small place. They tend to go other places besides where they shoot the movies.
  5. Yes, I am from Oklahoma.
  6. No, I do not know Kevin Durant.
  7. Yes, I know who Barack Obama is. He’s kind of a big deal in our country. Crazy right?
  8. Yes, we know what the whip and nae nae are.
  9. YES, I AM POSITIVE I AM NOT ARGENTINIAN.

If you happened to notice the difference in length of my answers to English speakers versus Portuguese speakers…there is a reason for that. I’ll let you figure that one out for yourself. But hey, it’s only been 5 weeks, cut me some slack.

 

Tchau for now!

GH

 

 

One thought on “Answering the “Tough” Questions

Leave a Reply

